Gallery

First blog post

It’s been about 24 years since I last developed a roll of film and I figured it about time to try again.  I had read about Caffenol about two years ago and kept coming back to it.  Since I had several expired rolls of film lying around, I figured I may as well give it a shot.  First I needed a developing tank, so I headed over to the Englishtown Flea Market.  I was not disappointed.

In future posts, I’ll go into detail about film, camera and Caffenol recipes.  If you’re thinking about giving Caffenol a try, do it!  It’s fun, frustrating at times but I didn’t realize how much I missed film.

Many thanks to Reinhold G and the gang and Caffenol.org for the tips and inspiration and the Caffenol Cookbook!

3 thoughts on “First blog post

  1. As a new die hard self developer using Rodinal I’d really like to try Caffenol… I’ll try to get the ingredients together soon.

    Well Instant Coffee and Washing Soda seem to be the easiest – pure Vitamin C… I’ll check with a pharmacy.

    The potassium bromide seems more of a problem, but as I ofter push film to 1600 or more it seems I’ll need some

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Frank! I may give Rodinal a try a well at some point, when I feel I have a good handle on the Caffenol. I will be sharing the recipes I used in future posts.

      As for the vitamin C, I picked some up @ GNC. For the potassium bromide, the Cookbook says you can substitute iodized salt, just double the amount.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

